Favorite Reads of 2019

It’s the end of another year, and a new year is upon us! 2019 was a good year for me. My nephew was born, my husband and I remodeled one of our bathrooms (we’re now working on the other bathroom), and I got to travel a bit to Oregon, Washington, Colorado, and Disneyland. Throughout the … More Favorite Reads of 2019

Book Review: Dark Age by Pierce Brown (Red Rising Saga #5)

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Morning Star returns to the Red Rising universe with the thrilling sequel to Iron Gold. For a decade Darrow led a revolution against the corrupt color-coded Society. Now, outlawed by the very Republic he founded, he wages a rogue war on Mercury in … More Book Review: Dark Age by Pierce Brown (Red Rising Saga #5)

Book Review: Obsidio by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (The Illuminae Files #3)

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives from the attacks on Heimdall station and now find themselves crammed with 2,000 refugees on the container ship, Mao. With the jump station destroyed and their resources scarce, the only option is to return to Kerenza—but who knows what they’ll … More Book Review: Obsidio by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (The Illuminae Files #3)

Book Review: Iron Gold by Pierce Brown (Red Rising Saga #4)

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: They call him father, liberator, warlord, Reaper. But he feels a boy as he falls toward the pale blue planet, his armor red, his army vast, his heart heavy. It is the tenth year of war and the thirty-second of his life. A decade ago, Darrow was the hero of … More Book Review: Iron Gold by Pierce Brown (Red Rising Saga #4)

Brief Thoughts: The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: England, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. They are not what they seem, but colleagues from a technologically advanced future, posing as a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren’t the first team of time travelers, … More Brief Thoughts: The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn

Book Review: Valley of the Moon by Melanie Gideon

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: In this captivating novel from the author of Wife 22, a woman who feels lost in her own time stumbles across a California community that has, impossibly, been marooned in the early twentieth century perfect for readers of The Time Traveler’s Wife, Time and Again, and Sarah Addison Allen. Lux is … More Book Review: Valley of the Moon by Melanie Gideon

Series Review: The Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown (Red Rising, Golden Son, & Morning Star)

Official Synopsis of the first book in the trilogy, Red Rising, from Goodreads: Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations. Yet … More Series Review: The Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown (Red Rising, Golden Son, & Morning Star)

Book Review: The Enemy Within by Scott Burn

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Seventeen-year-old Max has always felt like an outsider. When the agonizing apocalyptic visions begin, he decides suicide is his only escape. He soon finds himself in an institution under the guidance of a therapist who sees something exceptional in him. Just as he begins to leave the hallucinations behind, Max discovers … More Book Review: The Enemy Within by Scott Burn

Book Review: A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray (Firebird #3)

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction My copy came from: I borrowed a digital copy from my local library. Review: What a letdown! A Million Worlds With You is a disappointing end to a series that started out promising. There’s a bit of a format change for today’s review! I’ll be doing this one bullet-style, as … More Book Review: A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray (Firebird #3)