ARC Review: Death in Focus by Anne Perry (Elena Standish #1)

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: In the start of an all-new mystery series set in pre-World War II Europe, an intrepid young photographer carries her imperiled lover’s final, urgent message into the heart of Berlin as Hitler ascends to power. On vacation from London on the beautiful Italian coast, twenty-eight-year-old Elena Standish and her older sister … More ARC Review: Death in Focus by Anne Perry (Elena Standish #1)

ARC Review: Relative Fortunes by Marlowe Benn (A Julia Kydd Novel #1)

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: In 1920s New York, the price of a woman’s independence can be exorbitant—even fatal. In 1924 Manhattan, women’s suffrage is old news. For sophisticated booklover Julia Kydd, life’s too short for politics. With her cropped hair and penchant for independent living, Julia wants only to launch her own new private press. … More ARC Review: Relative Fortunes by Marlowe Benn (A Julia Kydd Novel #1)

Book Review: The American Agent by Jacqueline Winspear (Maisie Dobbs #15)

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Beloved heroine Maisie Dobbs, “one of the great fictional heroines” (Parade), investigates the mysterious murder of an American war correspondent in London during the Blitz in a page-turning tale of love and war, terror and survival. When Catherine Saxon, an American correspondent reporting on the war in Europe, is found murdered … More Book Review: The American Agent by Jacqueline Winspear (Maisie Dobbs #15)

ARC Review: To Suffer Is Human by Chris Halsne

Official Synopsis from Amazon: A violent animal-rights army ends the days of “do no harm.” When federal agent, Nolan Burke, uncovers the charred remains of two dead college students, he suspects animal-rights extremists are responsible. His best friend, a meat-eating Seattle TV reporter, understands the bizarre subculture better than anyone. Their discovery of a plot … More ARC Review: To Suffer Is Human by Chris Halsne

Mini Review x2: In This Grave Hour (Maisie Dobbs #13) and To Die But Once (Maisie Dobbs #14) by Jacqueline Winspear

In This Grave Hour by Jacqueline Winspear (Maisie Dobbs #13) Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Sunday September 3rd 1939.  At the moment Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain broadcasts to the nation Britain’s declaration of war with Germany, a senior Secret Service agent breaks into Maisie Dobbs’ flat to await her return. Dr. Francesca Thomas has an urgent … More Mini Review x2: In This Grave Hour (Maisie Dobbs #13) and To Die But Once (Maisie Dobbs #14) by Jacqueline Winspear

ARC Review: Death of a New American by Mariah Fredericks (Jane Prescott #2)

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: The atmospheric, compelling follow-up to the stunning debut A Death of No Importance, featuring series character, Jane Prescott. In 1912, as New York reels from the news of the Titanic disaster, ladies’ maid Jane Prescott travels to Long Island with the Benchley family. Their daughter Louise is to marry William Tyler, … More ARC Review: Death of a New American by Mariah Fredericks (Jane Prescott #2)

ARC Review: The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: From the bestselling author of House of Shadows and The Phantom Tree comes a spellbinding tale of jealousy, greed, plotting and revenge—part history, part mystery—for fans of Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Barbara Erskine London, 1765 Lady Isabella Gerard, a respectable member of Georgian society, orders her maid to take her … More ARC Review: The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick

Book Review: Weighed in the Balance by Anne Perry (William Monk #7)

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: When Countess Zorah Rostova asks London barrister Sir Oliver Rathbone to defend her against a charge of slander, he is astonished to find himself accepting. For, without a shred of evidence, the countess insists that the prince of her small German principality was murdered by his wife, the woman who was … More Book Review: Weighed in the Balance by Anne Perry (William Monk #7)

ARC Review: Seven Deadly Zins by Nancy J. Parra (A Wine Country Mystery #2)

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: The second in Nancy J. Parra’s Wine Country mysteries is sure to make fans of Ellen Crosby heady with delight. Which suspect drowned an inspector in the Zinfandel? Sonoma tour guide Taylor O’Brian uncorks another intoxicating Wine Country mystery. Taylor O’Brian, founder of “Off the Beaten Path”, takes small groups … More ARC Review: Seven Deadly Zins by Nancy J. Parra (A Wine Country Mystery #2)

Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: My real name, no one remembers. The truth about that summer, no one else knows. In the summer of 1862, a group of young artists led by the passionate and talented Edward Radcliffe descends upon Birchwood Manor on the banks of the Upper Thames. Their plan: to spend a secluded … More Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton