Book Review: The American Agent by Jacqueline Winspear (Maisie Dobbs #15)

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Beloved heroine Maisie Dobbs, “one of the great fictional heroines” (Parade), investigates the mysterious murder of an American war correspondent in London during the Blitz in a page-turning tale of love and war, terror and survival. When Catherine Saxon, an American correspondent reporting on the war in Europe, is found murdered … More Book Review: The American Agent by Jacqueline Winspear (Maisie Dobbs #15)

ARC Review: The Spies of Shilling Lane by Jennifer Ryan

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: From the bestselling author of The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir comes a thrilling new WWII story about a village busybody—the mighty Mrs. Braithwaite—who resolves to find, and then rescue, her missing daughter. Mrs. Braithwaite, self-appointed queen of her English village, finds herself dethroned, despised, and dismissed following her husband’s selfish divorce petition. Never deterred, … More ARC Review: The Spies of Shilling Lane by Jennifer Ryan

Book Review: Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: A charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist—a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls. London 1940, bombs are falling. Emmy Lake is … More Book Review: Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce

Mini Review x2: In This Grave Hour (Maisie Dobbs #13) and To Die But Once (Maisie Dobbs #14) by Jacqueline Winspear

In This Grave Hour by Jacqueline Winspear (Maisie Dobbs #13) Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Sunday September 3rd 1939.  At the moment Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain broadcasts to the nation Britain’s declaration of war with Germany, a senior Secret Service agent breaks into Maisie Dobbs’ flat to await her return. Dr. Francesca Thomas has an urgent … More Mini Review x2: In This Grave Hour (Maisie Dobbs #13) and To Die But Once (Maisie Dobbs #14) by Jacqueline Winspear

Book Review: Bleak House by Charles Dickens

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Bleak House opens in the twilight of foggy London, where fog grips the city most densely in the Court of Chancery. The obscure case of Jarndyce and Jarndyce, in which an inheritance is gradually devoured by legal costs, the romance of Esther Summerson and the secrets of her origin, the sleuthing … More Book Review: Bleak House by Charles Dickens

ARC Review: Blood Is Blood by Will Thomas (Barker & Llewelyn #10)

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: A bombing injures private enquiry agent Cyrus Barker, leaving it up to his soon-to-be-married junior partner Thomas Llewelyn to find the person trying to murder them both before it’s too late—in the newest mystery in Will Thomas’s beloved series. In 19th century London, Cyrus Barker and his associate Thomas Llewelyn … More ARC Review: Blood Is Blood by Will Thomas (Barker & Llewelyn #10)

ARC Review: The Kennedy Debutante by Kerri Maher

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: A captivating novel following the exploits of Kathleen “Kick” Kennedy, the forgotten and rebellious daughter of one of America’s greatest political dynasties. London, 1938. The effervescent “It girl” of London society since her father was named the ambassador, Kathleen “Kick” Kennedy moves in rarified circles, rubbing satin-covered elbows with some … More ARC Review: The Kennedy Debutante by Kerri Maher

ARC Review: Treacherous Is the Night by Anna Lee Huber (Verity Kent #2)

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: In 1919 England, in the shadow of The Great War, many look to the spirit world for answers. But it will take an all too earthbound intrigue to draw in the discerning heroine of Anna Lee Huber’s latest mystery . . . It’s not that Verity Kent doesn’t sympathize with those … More ARC Review: Treacherous Is the Night by Anna Lee Huber (Verity Kent #2)

Book Review: It Begins In Betrayal by Iona Whishaw (Lane Winslow #4)

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: The fourth book in what the Globe and Mail has proclaimed “a terrific series” by “a writer to watch.” Summer descends over the picturesque King’s Cove as Darling and Lane’s mutual affection blossoms. But their respite from solving crime is cut short when a British government official arrives in Nelson … More Book Review: It Begins In Betrayal by Iona Whishaw (Lane Winslow #4)