ARC Review: The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: From the bestselling author of House of Shadows and The Phantom Tree comes a spellbinding tale of jealousy, greed, plotting and revenge—part history, part mystery—for fans of Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Barbara Erskine London, 1765 Lady Isabella Gerard, a respectable member of Georgian society, orders her maid to take her … More ARC Review: The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick

ARC Review: The Victory Garden by Rhys Bowen

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: From the bestselling author of The Tuscan Child comes a beautiful and heart-rending novel of a woman’s love and sacrifice during the First World War. As the Great War continues to take its toll, headstrong twenty-one-year-old Emily Bryce is determined to contribute to the war effort. She is convinced by a … More ARC Review: The Victory Garden by Rhys Bowen

Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: My real name, no one remembers. The truth about that summer, no one else knows. In the summer of 1862, a group of young artists led by the passionate and talented Edward Radcliffe descends upon Birchwood Manor on the banks of the Upper Thames. Their plan: to spend a secluded … More Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton

ARC Review: Enchantress of Numbers by Jennifer Chiaverini

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: The only legitimate child of Lord Byron, the most brilliant, revered, and scandalous of the Romantic poets, Ada was destined for fame long before her birth. Estranged from Ada’s father, who was infamously “mad, bad, and dangerous to know,” Ada’s mathematician mother is determined to save her only child from her perilous Byron heritage. … More ARC Review: Enchantress of Numbers by Jennifer Chiaverini

Mini Review: The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: The Remains of the Day is a profoundly compelling portrait of the perfect English butler and of his fading, insular world postwar England. At the end of his three decades of service at Darlington Hall, Stevens embarks on a country drive, during which he looks back over his career to reassure … More Mini Review: The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

Brief Thoughts: The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: England, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. They are not what they seem, but colleagues from a technologically advanced future, posing as a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren’t the first team of time travelers, … More Brief Thoughts: The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn

ARC Review: This Side of Murder by Anna Lee Huber (Verity Kent #1)

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: The Great War is over, but in this captivating new series from award-winning author Anna Lee Huber, one young widow discovers the real intrigue has only just begun . . . An Unpardonable Sin? England, 1919. Verity Kent’s grief over the loss of her husband pierces anew when she receives a … More ARC Review: This Side of Murder by Anna Lee Huber (Verity Kent #1)

Book Review: Death of a Busybody by George Bellairs

Synopsis from NetGalley: Miss Tither, the village busybody, is not the best-loved resident of Hilary Magna. She has made many enemies: bombarding the villagers with religious tracts, berating drunkards, and informing the spouses of cheating partners. Her murder, however, is still a huge shock to the Reverend Ethelred Claplady and his parish. Inspector Littlejohn’s understanding … More Book Review: Death of a Busybody by George Bellairs

Book Review: My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a … More Book Review: My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows