ARC Review: The Spies of Shilling Lane by Jennifer Ryan

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: From the bestselling author of The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir comes a thrilling new WWII story about a village busybody—the mighty Mrs. Braithwaite—who resolves to find, and then rescue, her missing daughter. Mrs. Braithwaite, self-appointed queen of her English village, finds herself dethroned, despised, and dismissed following her husband’s selfish divorce petition. Never deterred, … More ARC Review: The Spies of Shilling Lane by Jennifer Ryan

Book Review: Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Everyone knows Daisy Jones & The Six, but nobody knows the reason behind their split at the absolute height of their popularity . . . until now. Daisy is a girl coming of age in L.A. in the late sixties, sneaking into clubs on the Sunset Strip, sleeping with rock stars, … More Book Review: Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

ARC Review: Mistress of the Ritz by Melanie Benjamin

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: A captivating novel based on the story of the extraordinary real-life American woman who secretly worked for the French Resistance during World War II–while playing hostess to the invading Germans at the iconic Hotel Ritz in Paris–from the New York Times bestselling author of The Aviator’s Wife and The Swans of … More ARC Review: Mistress of the Ritz by Melanie Benjamin

ARC Review: To Suffer Is Human by Chris Halsne

Official Synopsis from Amazon: A violent animal-rights army ends the days of “do no harm.” When federal agent, Nolan Burke, uncovers the charred remains of two dead college students, he suspects animal-rights extremists are responsible. His best friend, a meat-eating Seattle TV reporter, understands the bizarre subculture better than anyone. Their discovery of a plot … More ARC Review: To Suffer Is Human by Chris Halsne

Book Review: Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: A charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist—a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls. London 1940, bombs are falling. Emmy Lake is … More Book Review: Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce

ARC Review: A Bend in the Stars by Rachel Barenbaum

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve … More ARC Review: A Bend in the Stars by Rachel Barenbaum

Book Review: The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: A moving, funny, triumphant novel that exalts the quiet victories of the inconspicuous among us. We are in the center of Paris, in an elegant apartment building inhabited by bourgeois families. Renée, the concierge, is witness to the lavish but vacuous lives of her numerous employers. Outwardly she conforms to every … More Book Review: The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Mini Review x2: In This Grave Hour (Maisie Dobbs #13) and To Die But Once (Maisie Dobbs #14) by Jacqueline Winspear

In This Grave Hour by Jacqueline Winspear (Maisie Dobbs #13) Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Sunday September 3rd 1939.  At the moment Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain broadcasts to the nation Britain’s declaration of war with Germany, a senior Secret Service agent breaks into Maisie Dobbs’ flat to await her return. Dr. Francesca Thomas has an urgent … More Mini Review x2: In This Grave Hour (Maisie Dobbs #13) and To Die But Once (Maisie Dobbs #14) by Jacqueline Winspear