ARC Review: To Suffer Is Human by Chris Halsne

Official Synopsis from Amazon: A violent animal-rights army ends the days of “do no harm.” When federal agent, Nolan Burke, uncovers the charred remains of two dead college students, he suspects animal-rights extremists are responsible. His best friend, a meat-eating Seattle TV reporter, understands the bizarre subculture better than anyone. Their discovery of a plot … More ARC Review: To Suffer Is Human by Chris Halsne

Book Review: Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: A charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist—a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls. London 1940, bombs are falling. Emmy Lake is … More Book Review: Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce

Book Review: The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: A moving, funny, triumphant novel that exalts the quiet victories of the inconspicuous among us. We are in the center of Paris, in an elegant apartment building inhabited by bourgeois families. Renée, the concierge, is witness to the lavish but vacuous lives of her numerous employers. Outwardly she conforms to every … More Book Review: The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Book Review: Bleak House by Charles Dickens

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Bleak House opens in the twilight of foggy London, where fog grips the city most densely in the Court of Chancery. The obscure case of Jarndyce and Jarndyce, in which an inheritance is gradually devoured by legal costs, the romance of Esther Summerson and the secrets of her origin, the sleuthing … More Book Review: Bleak House by Charles Dickens

Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Aging and reclusive Hollywood movie icon Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now? Monique is not exactly on top … More Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

ARC Review: The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: From the bestselling author of House of Shadows and The Phantom Tree comes a spellbinding tale of jealousy, greed, plotting and revenge—part history, part mystery—for fans of Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Barbara Erskine London, 1765 Lady Isabella Gerard, a respectable member of Georgian society, orders her maid to take her … More ARC Review: The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick

Mini Review: The Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: The Wisdom of Pooh. Is there such thing as a Western Taoist? Benjamin Hoff says there is, and this Taoist’s favorite food is honey. Through brilliant and witty dialogue with the beloved Pooh-bear and his companions, the author of this smash bestseller explains with ease and aplomb that rather than being … More Mini Review: The Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff

ARC Review: Seven Deadly Zins by Nancy J. Parra (A Wine Country Mystery #2)

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: The second in Nancy J. Parra’s Wine Country mysteries is sure to make fans of Ellen Crosby heady with delight. Which suspect drowned an inspector in the Zinfandel? Sonoma tour guide Taylor O’Brian uncorks another intoxicating Wine Country mystery. Taylor O’Brian, founder of “Off the Beaten Path”, takes small groups … More ARC Review: Seven Deadly Zins by Nancy J. Parra (A Wine Country Mystery #2)

Book Review: Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Could ten days at a health resort really change you forever? In Liane Moriarty’s latest page-turner, nine perfect strangers are about to find out… Nine people gather at a remote health resort. Some are here to lose weight, some are here to get a reboot on life, some are here … More Book Review: Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty

Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: My real name, no one remembers. The truth about that summer, no one else knows. In the summer of 1862, a group of young artists led by the passionate and talented Edward Radcliffe descends upon Birchwood Manor on the banks of the Upper Thames. Their plan: to spend a secluded … More Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton