ARC Review: Relic by Bronwyn Eley (The Relic Trilogy #1)

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: In the city of Edriast, there is no deadlier duty than to serve as the Shadow. As the personal servant of the powerful Lord Rennard, the Shadow’s life is all but forfeit. Rennard possesses one of five rare and dangerous Relics – a jewel that protects his bloodline, but slowly poisons … More ARC Review: Relic by Bronwyn Eley (The Relic Trilogy #1)

Six Degrees of Separation: Strange the Dreamer to…

A new month and time for another Six Degrees! Six Degrees of Separation is a meme hosted by Kate at booksaremyfavouriteandbest in where she challenges bloggers to start with one title, and link six other titles together. The connection can be anything – cover, title, author, topic, character, setting, etc. I’m always intrigued by this … More Six Degrees of Separation: Strange the Dreamer to…

ARC Review: Relative Fortunes by Marlowe Benn (A Julia Kydd Novel #1)

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: In 1920s New York, the price of a woman’s independence can be exorbitant—even fatal. In 1924 Manhattan, women’s suffrage is old news. For sophisticated booklover Julia Kydd, life’s too short for politics. With her cropped hair and penchant for independent living, Julia wants only to launch her own new private press. … More ARC Review: Relative Fortunes by Marlowe Benn (A Julia Kydd Novel #1)

ARC Review: To Suffer Is Human by Chris Halsne

Official Synopsis from Amazon: A violent animal-rights army ends the days of “do no harm.” When federal agent, Nolan Burke, uncovers the charred remains of two dead college students, he suspects animal-rights extremists are responsible. His best friend, a meat-eating Seattle TV reporter, understands the bizarre subculture better than anyone. Their discovery of a plot … More ARC Review: To Suffer Is Human by Chris Halsne

Book Review: Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: A charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist—a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls. London 1940, bombs are falling. Emmy Lake is … More Book Review: Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce

Book Review: The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: A moving, funny, triumphant novel that exalts the quiet victories of the inconspicuous among us. We are in the center of Paris, in an elegant apartment building inhabited by bourgeois families. Renée, the concierge, is witness to the lavish but vacuous lives of her numerous employers. Outwardly she conforms to every … More Book Review: The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Book Review: Bleak House by Charles Dickens

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Bleak House opens in the twilight of foggy London, where fog grips the city most densely in the Court of Chancery. The obscure case of Jarndyce and Jarndyce, in which an inheritance is gradually devoured by legal costs, the romance of Esther Summerson and the secrets of her origin, the sleuthing … More Book Review: Bleak House by Charles Dickens

Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Aging and reclusive Hollywood movie icon Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now? Monique is not exactly on top … More Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

ARC Review: The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: From the bestselling author of House of Shadows and The Phantom Tree comes a spellbinding tale of jealousy, greed, plotting and revenge—part history, part mystery—for fans of Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Barbara Erskine London, 1765 Lady Isabella Gerard, a respectable member of Georgian society, orders her maid to take her … More ARC Review: The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick