ARC Review: Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: In the vein of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, a mesmerizing debut set against the backdrop of the devastating violence of 1990’s Colombia about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid who strike an unlikely friendship that threatens to undo them both. The Santiago family lives in a … More ARC Review: Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras

Book Review: The Angel Court Affair by Anne Perry (A Charlotte and Thomas Pitt Novel #30)

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: When Commander Thomas Pitt is ordered to protect a young woman visiting London from Spain, he cannot see why this is a job for Special Branch. When she disappears in the dead of night from Angel Court, however, he is faced with a dangerous mystery. Sofia preached new, and some … More Book Review: The Angel Court Affair by Anne Perry (A Charlotte and Thomas Pitt Novel #30)

ARC Review: The Madonna of the Mountains by Elise Valmorbida

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: An epic and inspiring novel about one woman’s survival in the hardscrabble Italian countryside, oppressed by both a patriarchal society and by Mussolini’s iron-fist rule, but determined to protect her family throughout the war–by any means possible. A sweeping saga about womanhood, loyalty, war, religion, family, motherhood, and marriage, The … More ARC Review: The Madonna of the Mountains by Elise Valmorbida

ARC Review: The Summer I Met Jack by Michelle Gable

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: New York Times bestselling author imagines the affair between JFK and Alicia Corning Clark – and the child they may have had. Based on a real story – in 1950, a young, beautiful Polish refugee arrives in Hyannisport, Massachusetts to work as a maid for one of the wealthiest families … More ARC Review: The Summer I Met Jack by Michelle Gable

ARC Review: I Was Anastasia by Ariel Lawhon

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: In an enthralling new feat of historical suspense, Ariel Lawhon unravels the extraordinary twists and turns in Anna Anderson’s 50-year battle to be recognized as Anastasia Romanov. Is she the Russian Grand Duchess, a beloved daughter and revered icon, or is she an imposter, the thief of another woman’s legacy? … More ARC Review: I Was Anastasia by Ariel Lawhon

Book Review: The Revolution of Marina M by Janet Fitch

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: From the mega-bestselling author of White Oleander and Paint It Black, a sweeping historical saga of the Russian Revolution, as seen through the eyes of one young woman. St. Petersburg, New Year’s Eve, 1916. Marina Makarova is a young woman of privilege who aches to break free of the constraints … More Book Review: The Revolution of Marina M by Janet Fitch

Book Review: Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: In his long-awaited first novel, American master George Saunders delivers his most original, transcendent, and moving work yet. Unfolding in a graveyard over the course of a single night, narrated by a dazzling chorus of voices, Lincoln in the Bardo is a literary experience unlike any other—for no one but … More Book Review: Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders