ARC Review: By the Book by Julia Sonneborn

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: An English professor struggling for tenure discovers that her ex-fiancé has just become the president of her college—and her new boss—in this whip-smart modern retelling of Jane Austen’s classic Persuasion. Anne Corey is about to get schooled. An English professor in California, she’s determined to score a position on the … More ARC Review: By the Book by Julia Sonneborn

Book Review: Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

  Official Synopsis from Goodreads: In his long-awaited first novel, American master George Saunders delivers his most original, transcendent, and moving work yet. Unfolding in a graveyard over the course of a single night, narrated by a dazzling chorus of voices, Lincoln in the Bardo is a literary experience unlike any other—for no one but … More Book Review: Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

Mini Review: The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: The Remains of the Day is a profoundly compelling portrait of the perfect English butler and of his fading, insular world postwar England. At the end of his three decades of service at Darlington Hall, Stevens embarks on a country drive, during which he looks back over his career to reassure … More Mini Review: The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

Mini Review: The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: From the #1 bestselling author of The Rosie Project and The Rosie Effect, an unforgettable new novel about lost love and second chances On the cusp of turning fifty, Adam Sharp likes his life. He’s happy with his partner Claire, he excels in music trivia at quiz night at the local … More Mini Review: The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion

Book Review: Valley of the Moon by Melanie Gideon

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: In this captivating novel from the author of Wife 22, a woman who feels lost in her own time stumbles across a California community that has, impossibly, been marooned in the early twentieth century perfect for readers of The Time Traveler’s Wife, Time and Again, and Sarah Addison Allen. Lux is … More Book Review: Valley of the Moon by Melanie Gideon

Two Books About Grief: A Monster Calls and My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She’s Sorry

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: The monster showed up after midnight. As they do. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming… This monster … More Two Books About Grief: A Monster Calls and My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She’s Sorry

ARC Review: The Marriage Pact by Michelle Richmond

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: In this relentlessly paced novel of psychological suspense, New York Times bestselling author Michelle Richmond crafts an intense and shocking tale that asks: How far would you go to protect your marriage? Newlyweds Alice and Jake are a picture-perfect couple. Alice, once a singer in a well-known rock band, is now … More ARC Review: The Marriage Pact by Michelle Richmond

Book Review: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Official Synopsis from Goodreads: Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed. … More Book Review: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas