Want It Wednesday – November 13, 2019

Hello again! And welcome to another week of Want It Wednesday, where I spotlight a few of the new book releases for this week.

WantItWednesday

***this post contains affiliate links. The links to Amazon are affiliate links which means that if you click the link and make a purchase, then I receive a small commission.***

We’ve got a bunch of great sounding releases this week, from mysteries to contemporary feel-good fiction, to nonfiction, there’s a lot here!

The Dog I Loved by Susan Wilson

TheDogILovedCover

Amazon (Affiliate Link!)   |   Goodreads

I’m a fan of Susan Wilson’s books! I’ve read One Good Dog, and also Two Good Dogs. I’m not sure if this book follows along with those same characters, but it’s sure to be a heartwarming tale for dog lovers!


Lethal Pursuit by Will Thomas (Barker & Llewelyn #11)

LethalPursuitCover

Amazon (Affiliate Link!)   |   Goodreads

I’m a huge fan of this historical mystery series set in 1890s London! I’ve reviewed a few entries in this series so far, and I’m looking forward to reading this book. I can’t wait to see what Barker and Llewelyn are up to in this one!


The Body on the Train by Frances Brody (Kate Shackleton #11)

TheBodyOnTheTrainCover

Amazon (Affiliate Link!)   |   Goodreads

Well, this sounds like such a fun mystery series! This entry is set in London in 1929, and is advertised as for fans of Rhys Bowen and Jacqueline Winspear. I enjoy both of those authors, so this series sounds like one I’d really enjoy! And I love the cover!


An Irish Country Family by Patrick Taylor (Irish Country #14)

AnIrishCountryFamilyCover

Amazon (Affiliate Link!)   |   Goodreads

Goodness! We’re up to number fourteen in this series?? I am so behind! I know I’ve read the first book, An Irish Country Doctor, but I’m not sure if I’ve read any of the others? Guess I need to get back into this series before I get even further behind!


Citizen 865 by Debbie Cenziper

Citizen865Cover

Amazon (Affiliate Link!)   |   Goodreads

This nonfiction read sounds particularly chilling, as it sounds like it’s an account of Nazi hunters searching for SS soldiers who tried to hide in the US after WWII. I’m not sure I’ll be buying this one anytime soon, but it does sound fascinating!


Memories and Murder by Lynn Cahoon (Tourist Trap Mystery #10)

MemoriesAndMurderCover

Amazon (Affiliate Link!)   |   Goodreads

Cozy mystery time! I haven’t read any in this series yet, but it sounds like fun! Who doesn’t love a tourist trap?


Love Is A Rebellious Bird by Elayne Klasson

LoveIsARebelliousBirdCover

Amazon (Affiliate Link!)   |   Goodreads

Now this one sounds a bit different. A little more philosophical, about love and relationships, but I’d like to see some reviews before making a purchase of this one. It does sound very interesting!


There you have it, some titles that have been released this week! For me, my have to read, want it right now release this week is Lethal Pursuit!

Are there any you’re interested in reading?


11 thoughts on “Want It Wednesday – November 13, 2019

  1. Okay, stupidly, it just dawned on me that you read series. I’m always so self-conscious that I read series because I think no one will want to read those reviews, but I now realize it’s about how I write the review.

    Also, that Body on the Train book just went on the shelves today at my library!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Interesting thought about how you write the reviews of series books! Have you figured out a style that works best for series reviews?
      I love series but I go back and forth with writing reviews of the ones I read. Sometimes I wonder about the murder mysteries I read… so many of the books are so similar, that I fear the reviews will all sound the same, too!
      In reading reviews of series books, I like to read the review of book one of the series, and then after that I basically just want to know if the series is worth the time investment if it’s a series I’m on the fence about.
      And oooh The Body on the Train! Was the cover as cute in real life? It looks like a fun series!

      Like

      1. Well, with #ReadingValdemar, I think Jackie and I are both kind of reviewing like people are reading along with us. We HOPED people would read along, and for a while they did, but it’s such a long series that now it’s down to the two of us. It doesn’t help that the series is broken into trilogies, so they’re not even stand-alone novels. I’m going to keep reading the Valdemar books in 2020, but I’m going to rethink my reviews. I might just review each trilogy instead in three mini reviews published together.

        The cover of the Body on the Train book was super cute, and I love the lady’s little flapper hat. It looks like a fun period piece.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I adore period piece mysteries! 🙂 I’m looking forward to trying this series at some point.
          Series are tough to review. I’ve enjoyed your Valdemar reviews, even though I’m not reading the books, but I think I’ve missed a couple along the way. I like your idea of reviewing each trilogy in one post! That’s a good idea, and I think that might entice readers to read the review knowing they’ll get a full picture of the series. It’s so hard to tell what people want to read review-wise.

          Like

          1. Hey, thanks for your feedback! That’s good to know for next year. I’ve found that if I’m adding more in graphic novels to the mix, I’m actually coming out with too many reviews per week (in my opinion). I don’t want to make my readers feel like they’re struggling to keep up with the content. I appreciate your input!

            Liked by 1 person

            1. You’re welcome! 🙂 It’s tough to know how much content is too much content. I’ve just started doing three posts a week, and I’m honestly not sure how much longer I’ll be able to keep up with that much, but I’ve got a backlog of reviews since I didn’t post much in August-September-October due to various reasons. Some bloggers post multiple times a day and I just can’t imagine being able to post that often! It takes me too long to write my posts to do that 🙂

              Like

              1. I used to teach review writing and I’m STILL trying to figure it out. I tend to look at how long it takes my long-term followers to get to a post. If people don’t read the Sunday Lowdown until Wednesday, I’m posting too much.

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Oh wow, I never looked at it that way before! I guess the majority of views/comments all happen within the first 24 hours of a blog post. At least, I see my stats spike on days that I post. Now that I’m posting more frequently, I wonder if the stats will level off somewhat, or still go up and down.
                  But that’s really only a good method to measure against if you know your readers are caught up in reading blogs. For example, I’m not caught up – I’m still back reading blog posts dated October 23rd. I used to worry about being so behind, but now I’ve realized that reading blogs daily doesn’t really work with my schedule, and that that is completely alright! 🙂 But I don’t think that I’m a typical blogger as I don’t blog-hop as frequently as I probably should.

                  Like

                  1. I’m glad you make time for me, especially given the fact that you’re battling California fires. Oy. I do see a spike in my stats on days I post, but the comments don’t match. Basically, there are loads of readers from across the globe (and a lot of it could be spam bots that visit the site), and then I get comments a few days later.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. Interesting that the comments come later! That is one thing I’ve noticed about being behind in reading blog posts – there are so many more comments to read if I’m behind. I actually like to read comments on other’s blogs – I’ve found a lot of blogs that way!
                      They have plans to turn our power off again tomorrow (Wednesday) and Thursday. Uggh… another wind event! I think we’re supposed to get some rain next week so hopefully there won’t be an issue of no power on Thanksgiving….

                      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s