ARC Review: The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

712DeathsCoverOfficial Synopsis from Goodreads: How do you stop a murder that’s already happened?

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed—again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend—but nothing and no one is quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.


Genre: Mystery
Setting: Possibly an English country house with an indeterminate time and place. It feels very much in an early 1900s setting (think Downton Abbey), but time and place are never mentioned.

 ***I received an eARC copy of The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle from the publisher, Sourcebooks Landmark, via NetGalley***

*** this post contains affiliate links ***


Review: Wow! What a mesmerizing, puzzling read! The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton has a classic mystery feel, and this is a mystery that will live on for ages.

Aiden Bishop is tasked with solving the impending death of Evelyn Hardcastle, but the catch is that he keeps reliving the same day over and over again, and he spends each day in a different body. He’s got eight days and eight people to inhabit before everything resets and he’s doomed to repeat the puzzle again and again. Sounds a bit complicated, and it is, but it’s also absolutely riveting. I typically can’t stand books with repeating timelines, but there was something different about this read. Each day starts to change, and as Aiden inhabits different bodies, with different strengths and weaknesses, each day was different enough to keep me interested. It also helps that any kind of manor house mystery is one I usually love, and I could not put this book down. I don’t want to say too much about the plot, as how it unfolds is part of the magic of this read. Every time I’d think that I had it figured out, something would twist, or another body would appear, and I was never able to figure out whodunit (or in this case, whowilldoit) until the very end.

Now, with that being said, this is a title that some readers will tear to shreds. It is confusing and complicated, and some parts towards the end just didn’t sit well with me and I did not agree with certain actions Aiden took at the end. Because this is a book that is bound to generate strong opinions (either love or dislike), I think this would be a great discussion book. There are many love to hate and hate to love characters, plenty of moral implications, and it’s a book that many will want to discuss after reading it.

I won’t say anything else about the plot or characters, as it’s best if you don’t know much about the book going into it. But, if you love mysteries, this is a book for you! I couldn’t put this down, and was glued to the page. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good mystery and to anyone who enjoys a twisty, challenging read.

Bottom Line: Twisty and puzzling, but I couldn’t put it down! Loved it!


LINKS ***the Amazon link is an affiliate link which means I receive a small commission if you click the link and make a purchase***

Amazon     |     Goodreads


 Have you read this title? What did you think? Do you enjoy mysteries set in English country houses?

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “ARC Review: The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

    1. I haven’t seen Happy Death Day, but I just read a quick synopsis online and yeah, that sounds similar! Also spot on with the role playing game, too. What’s interesting about this one is that when he’s in a person’s body/mind, he takes on some of their characteristics. For example when he’s in the body of the policeman, his instincts are stronger, and he’s physically capable of doing things he can’t in other bodies. It brought an interesting element to the story, and made it a bit different.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s